Ollie Blyth-Lafferty has been named in the Scotland U18 squad for the Six Nations festival in Italy after being the victim of red tape for the U20s. 

The young Edinburgh tighthead was named in Kenny Murray's original squad for the U20 Six Nations opener again Wales but was replaced on the day after talks with World Rugby due to his age. 

The 17-year-old missed out on the whole tournament on safety grounds but he'll get a chance to represent the U18s when they travel to Parma for three games in eight days beginning on Saturday, March 30. 

They start by facing Georgia this weekend before taking on England next Wednesday, April 3 and round off the games with a tie against Italy on Sunday, April 7. 

Head coach Ross Miller has named a 26 man squad for the festival that is largely made up of players linked to Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh. 

READ MORE: Sione Tuipulotu in Glasgow Warriors boost as Pete Murchie details 2015 parallels

Seven of those players come from Edinburgh with 14 arriving into the squad from Glasgow Warriors - including captain Joe Roberts while others come from the likes of Leicester Tigers, Bristol Bears and Harlequins.

Miller said: “Preparations have been going really well, and the players and staff are very much looking forward to the experience in Parma.

“The group have been excellent to work with, and we’ve seen real progress in the training and matches we’ve had so far.

“The Six Nations Festival gives the players the chance to develop and progress against international opponents, which will give the players valuable experience to support their future development.”

Full squad 

Harry Blackie – Morrison’s Academy / Glasgow Warriors
Ollie Blyth-Lafferty – Currie Chieftains / Edinburgh Rugby
Sam Byrd – Rugby School / Leicester Tigers
Dan Halkon – RGS Worcester / Midlands Rugby Academy
Lochlan Hodge – Highland RFC / Glasgow Warriors
Mickey Kesson – Stirling County RFC / Glasgow Warriors
Christian Lindsay – Loretto School / Edinburgh Rugby
Oliver McKenna – St Aloysius’ College / Glasgow Warriors
William Pearce – Collegiate School / Bristol Bears
Rory Purvis – Dollar Academy / Glasgow Warriors
Joe Roberts CAPTAIN – Robert Gordon’s College / Dundee RFC / Glasgow Warriors
Mac Rutherford – Gala RFC / Edinburgh Rugby
Harry Stewart – Kelvinside Academy / Biggar RFC / Glasgow Warriors
Harrison Wood – George Watson’s College / Edinburgh Rugby

Henry Armstrong – Morrison’s Academy / Glasgow Warriors
Alex Bryden – Dumfries Saints Rugby Club / Glasgow Warriors
Ben Curtis – Howe of Fife / Glasgow Warriors
Sam Leweni – Watsonians / Glasgow Warriors
Hamish MacArthur – Merchiston Castle School / Edinburgh Rugby
Nairn Moncrieff – Gala RFC / Edinburgh Rugby
Harry Provan – High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks / Glasgow Warriors
Elliot Southworth – Hartpury College / Harlequins
Jamie Thomson – George Watson’s College / Edinburgh Rugby
Nicky Thompson – Sedbergh School / Glasgow Warriors
Campbell Waugh – Hutchesons’ Grammar School / Glasgow Warriors
Ross Wolfenden – Peebles High School / Peebles RFC / Edinburgh Rugby