Bryan Easson has named seven uncapped players in his extended Scotland squad for the Women’s Six Nations, including four who have been a key part of Edinburgh’s Celtic Challenge squad that have reached the playoffs.

The 34 player squad is made up of 18 forwards and 16 backs and will meet up in camp on Monday, February 26. Corstorphine Cougars pair Alex Stewart – who spoke about her hopes of being in the Scotland squad to Scotland Rugby News last week – and Merryn Gunderson are both included, as are University of Edinburgh duo Cieron Bell and Nicole Flynn. 

The other three uncapped players called in for the first time are Leia Brebner-Holden, Megan Varley and Fiona McIntosh.

Meanwhile, 23 of the squad have now been handed professional contracts with four more players also handed deals, although they are currently unavailable through injury.

READ MORE: Hamish Watson returns to Scotland squad as changes made ahead of England clash

Jade Konkel, Liz Musgrove, Evie Wills and Jenny Maxwell are all out of action and unavailable for the Six Nations under Easson.

He said: “After our success in South Africa at WXV2, we are ready to push on with a Six Nations campaign and it’s exciting to be doing this with new faces to the squad and management team.

“The expansion of the Celtic Challenge has helped us identify a number of up-and-coming players who have showcased they deserve a chance to take the next step.

“It’s great to bring in a number of experienced players and those whose professional careers have been flourishing in the Allianz PWR.

"Lana Skeldon, Rachel Malcolm, Evie Gallagher and Elliann Clarke have all been real standouts in that competition, alongside newcomer Meg Varley. I’m looking forward to seeing this group challenge each other in the run-up to the championship.”



Leah Bartlett (Leicester Tigers)

Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning)

Sarah Bonar (Harlequins)

Elliann Clarke (Bristol Bears)

Lisa Cockburn (Leicester Tigers)

Eva Donaldson (Leicester Tigers)

Evie Gallagher (Bristol Bears)

Merryn Gunderson (Corstorphine Cougars/Edinburgh Rugby)

Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning)

Elis Martin (Leicester Tigers)

Fiona McIntosh (Saracens)

Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks)

Louise McMillan (Saracens)

Lana Skeldon (Bristol Bears)

Alex Stewart (Corstorphine Cougars/Edinburgh Rugby)

Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning)

Molly Wright (Sale Sharks)

Anne Young (Sale Sharks)


Cieron Bell (University of Edinburgh/Edinburgh Rugby)

Beth Blacklock (Saracens)

Leia Brebner-Holden (Gloucester-Hartpury/Cheltenham Tigers)

Shona Campbell (GB 7s)

Nicole Flynn (University of Edinburgh/Edinburgh Rugby)

Coreen Grant (Saracens)

Caity Mattinson (Gloucester-Hartpury)

Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs)

Francesca McGhie (Leicester Tigers)                          

Rhona Lloyd (GB 7s/ Stade Bordelais)

Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)

Emma Orr (Heriot’s Blues/Edinburgh Rugby)           

Lisa Thomson (GB 7s)

Chloe Rollie (Loughborough Lightning)

Meryl Smith (Bristol Bears)

Megan Varley (Bristol Bears)