Scotland Women U20 head coach Claire Cruikshank has named a 30-player squad for the inaugural Six Nations Women’s Summer Series in Italy next month. 

The squad, which comprises 17 forwards and 13 backs, will travel to Parma next week ahead of their first match against the hosts on Thursday July 4. 

A total of 25 of the 30-strong squad were drafted to either Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors during the 2023/24 Celtic Challenge. 

Former Scotland Women U18 and Scotland Futures players, Poppy Fletcher and Hannah Walker, have been named as the tour co-captains, with a matchday captain to be selected for each game. 

Fresh from their experience in the Guinness Women’s Six Nations with Scotland Women, Nicole Flynn, Natasha Logan, Merryn Gunderson and Leia Brebner-Holden have also been selected for the competition. 

READ MORE: Teenage star eyes Scotland cap thanks to Red Roses mentor

Both Logan and Brebner-Holden join Rhea Clarke, Ellie Williamson and Nicole Marlow as five U23 players to be selected in line with eligibility rules. 

Leia Brebner-Holden represented Edinburgh during the Celtic ChallengeLeia Brebner-Holden represented Edinburgh during the Celtic Challenge (Image: SNS)

Following on from her Scotland Women U18 debut in the recent U18 Six Nations Festival, Talei Tawake will make the step up into the U20 squad. 

Cruikshank said: “The selected squad is an exciting mix of talent. There are players who have come through the pathway, age-grade at U18 level, who have been involved with the Scotland Futures last year plus players from the Scottish Qualified programme. 

“The vast majority of players have come through from the Celtic Challenge, playing for Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors and that gives us a level of readiness for what’s to come in Parma. 

“This competition is a great chance to test ourselves against international opposition at this age and stage of players' development in this new Summer Series which is a really exciting prospect.

Scotland Women U20 head coach Claire CruikshankScotland Women U20 head coach Claire Cruikshank (Image: SNS)

"We played against Italy and Ireland as the Scotland Futures in Rome last year, so we have an idea of what to expect from them, they’re going to bring different challenges. 

“The beauty of this competition is we will have to adapt very quickly, there’s not much turn-around between games but that’s another good experience for us. We’re super excited to expose ourselves to that level of rugby at age-grade international level.” 

The squad have just returned from a training camp with their counterparts in Wales as part of the preparation for the Series. 

“It’s great training against yourselves and the girls have been really pushing each other, but to go to Wales and put ourselves under pressure in opposed training sessions and a hit out is really important for us ahead of going to Italy”, said Cruikshank. 

Scotland’s Six Nations Women’s Summer Series fixtures against Italy, France and Ireland will be available to watch via, with all remaining matches available on the Six Nations Rugby YouTube channels. 

Scotland Women U20 squad 


Aila Ronald (University of Edinburgh/Edinburgh Rugby), Chloe Brown (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors), Ellie Williamson (West of Scotland/Glasgow Warriors); Eilidh Fleming (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors), Gemma Bell (Hartpury University/Gloucester Hartpury/Edinburgh Rugby), Holland Bogan (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors), Karis Craig (Watsonians/Glasgow Warriors), Lauryn Walter (Brunel University/Ealing Trailfinders), Lucy Christie (Newcastle University), Merryn Gunderson (Corstorphine Cougars/Edinburgh Rugby), Megan Hyland (Garioch/Glasgow Warriors), Molly Poolman (Watsonians /Edinburgh Rugby), Natasha Logan (University of Edinburgh/Edinburgh Rugby), Poppy Fletcher (University of Edinburgh/Edinburgh Rugby), Poppy Clarkson (Biggar), Samaanther Taganekurukuru (Stirling County/Edinburgh Rugby), Talei Tawake (Watsonians) 


Ami Conchie (Watsonians/Edinburgh Rugby), Rebekah Douglas (Corstorphine Cougars/Edinburgh Rugby), Ceitidh Ainsworth (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors), Hannah Walker (University of Edinburgh/Edinburgh Rugby), Hannah Ramsay (Edinburgh Rugby),  
Isobel McGuire-Evans (Sale Sharks/Glasgow Warriors), Leia Brebner-Holden (Gloucester Hartpury/Edinburgh Rugby), Lucia Scott (Hartpury University/Gloucester Hartpury), Lucy MacRae (University of Edinburgh/Glasgow Warriors), Nicole Marlow (Cardiff Metropolitan University/Edinburgh Rugby), Nicole Flynn (University of Edinburgh/Edinburgh Rugby), Rhea Clarke (University of Edinburgh/Glasgow Warriors), Sky Phimister (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) 


Italy v Scotland | 4 July, 8pm (BST) 
Scotland v France | 9 July, 5.30pm (BST) 
Ireland v Scotland | 14 July, 9am (BST)