Scotland under-20 head coach Kenny Murray has reverted to the team that thrashed Samoa 123-15 for their crunch World Rugby U20 Trophy pool finale against Japan at Hive Stadium on Friday.

That means Murray again makes 10 changes to the team that demolished Hong Kong China 101-0 last Sunday in the second round of group matches. 

Only prop Robbie Deans, back-row pair Liam McConnell and Freddy Douglas, centre Johnny Ventisei and wing Finlay Doyle - who has scored two hat-tricks in as many games so far - retain their places in the starting XV. 

Murray said: “I have been impressed with the performances the guys have put in over the past two games and it is vital that we continue to build on these going into Friday’s game.

“There have been a lot of positives to take from our games against Samoa and Hong Kong China, but we know we must fix the mistakes if we want to walk away with a good result.

Scotland U20 head coach Kenny MurrayScotland U20 head coach Kenny Murray (Image: SNS)

“Japan are a dynamic and fast team that have also had some big scores against their opponents, but we are ready for the challenge and are looking forward to getting back out on the pitch for our final pool match.”

Loosehead prop Deans is joined in the front-row by brothers Jerry and Ollie Blyth-Lafferty, while Euan McVie and Ryan Burke return to start together in the second row.

In the back-row captain McConnell and openside Douglas are joined by number eight Tom Currie.

Conor McAlpine and Andrew McLean return at half-back, while Findlay Thomson takes the 12 jersey as he partners Ventisei in the midfield. 

After six tries so far, Doyle keeps his place on the right wing and is joined in the back three by vice-captain Geordie Gwynn and another hat-trick scorer in the Samoa rout, fullback Fergus Watson. 

Both sides go into the match with two bonus point wins. The winner of Friday's clash will top Pool A and advance to the final next Wednesday.

Scotland U20: F Watson, F Doyle, J Ventisei, F Thomson, G Gwynn, A McLean, C McAlpine; R Deans J Blyth-Lafferty, O Blyth-Lafferty, E McVie, R Burke, L McConnell, F Douglas, T Currie

Replacements: S Stephen, B White, C Norrie, R Hart, D Cockburn, H Patterson, K Yule, J Hocking